Exam P or FM first? Does it matter?

Honestly, when I first started my actuarial exam taking life, I started with Exam 1/P (Probability). I had a hard time with it. I did not know how to study for an actuarial exam at all.  As a result, I did not pass Exam P on the first attempt. But I was driven. I decided to take Exam FM (Financial Mathematics) while waiting for the Exam P results.  I was able to pass Exam FM on the first try.  Then I passed P during the next sitting.  Some say FM is easier than P.  It is up to you, but getting credit for an exam is all in the same, no matter which one you choose to take first.  If you are struggling with P, maybe take a break and switch gears to FM.

Passing Exams is required to become an Actuary, but you’ll need strong technical skills to stand out, make sure to sign up for my courses.

